If you have been injured, you may have a long recovery time a head of you,
and may not be ready to file a claim right away. There is a limit to how
much time you have to file a claim, however, so it is important to understand
the statute of limitations in New Mexico for
personal injury claims. If you wish to recover compensation for your injuries, you must
file a claim within this time frame.
The statute of limitations varies between states, but in New Mexico, the
length of time you have to file a claim is 3 years from the date of your
accident. After this time, you will be unable to file for damages. If
you intend to file a claim, you may wish to wait until the full extent
of your injuries can be revealed and your treatment costs are understood.
If you desire to wait until then, you should contact an experienced personal
injury attorney for advice. You will need to provide proof of the other
party’s liability, and this proof may be lost over time. Your lawyer
may advise you to file your claim sooner or can assist you in gathering
and preserving the necessary evidence for your claim.
Similar to personal injury claims, a wrongful death claim also has a time
limit. If you have lost a loved one due to someone’s neglect or
carelessness, you may be able to file a
wrongful death claim. These claims allow you to recover compensation for your loved one’s
death, final expenses, and the loss of their income for their dependents.
For wrongful death suits in New Mexico, you have 3 years from the date
of the death.
If you need help filing a personal injury or wrongful death claim, our
Albuquerque personal injury attorney has the experience to fight for your
rights. Michael J. Doyle, Attorney At Law is committed to providing compassionate
legal service and we will aggressively pursue justice for you.
Contact our offices today for a